Staying Positive-Fighting Negativity

A lesson that I’ve learned from the start of my life, is a timeless one. ‘Stay positive’, ‘look on the bright side’, or, ‘don’t let it bring you down.’ These are a few examples of my families words, that still ring through my head now. I think they are still fresh in my head today, years later, because they have so much meaning behind them. Sometimes its hard to listen to the advice our friends and family. But, I encourage you to try and slow down, take in what they have to say, and apply it to your own life. Keeping a positive mindset can drastically help you on your quest to a happy and successful life.

Things get us down in life. It’s inevitable. There are always going to be obstacles, trials, and complications presented to us in quite a few different ways. These problems are going to arise, and they are going to try bringing you down, you just have to not let it. I’m sure your thinking, “It’s not that simple!” Believe me, I hear that. I feel what you’re saying. I struggled a long time with keeping a positive mentality, I still do from time to time, and it was so difficult to listen to the advice of others. Eventually, I was able to listen to the guidance, and it became clear of where the positivity comes from.

Keeping positive comes from your own brain. It takes real EFFORT, and HARD WORK. Nothing good comes easy, and I’m telling you, having a positive attitude towards life produces something GREAT. Gaining happiness is done through quite a few different steps, and being positive is one of the big ones. Happiness isn’t a gift. It isn’t something that can be given to you. Happiness is a reward, that is only granted to you, through your own hard work.

I know there are a lot of people out there telling you ‘The 10 Ways to Stay Positive.’ The truth about a lot of the things you’re reading is; there is no definite answer. No one knows the answer because everyone is different. A list of 10 things that keep you positive may be perfect for 1 person, but for you only 3 of those 10 things work. That’s ok though, it’s not like your wrong for not being able to apply those few things to your life. You just have to figure out what’s best for you.

Staying positive is the act of fighting negative influences and thoughts. If you aren’t successful at achieving a goal, you have to be able to tell yourself it wasn’t a failure, it was just a setback. Setbacks are normal, it isn’t anything to be ashamed of, and it is no reason to stop trying to achieve greatness. Many great people in history, and even in our world today faced many setbacks. They stayed positive and achieved what seemed at some points, impossible. Thomas Edison, the inventor of the lightbulb, faced a bunch of setbacks, and I bet that he felt pretty negative at times. He didn’t let the negativity overcome him though. He stayed positive, and found the answer he was striving for. After he discovered the perfect configuration for a functional light bulb, he was quoted; “I didn’t fail 1,000 times. The light bulb was an invention with 1,000 steps.” Finding your way through life, and achieving happiness through positivity is not an expedition you complete with just a couple steps. It is a continuous path that takes time, and dedication.

Don’t get discouraged guys! It’s possible. You WILL be able to take the steps necessary to stay positive about life. Just believe in yourself.

I have so, so much more to say on the topic of a positive mentality. I’m a little worried that if I don’t keep it short, someone will quit reading. I will be writing more articles very soon, expanding my talk on a positive life. I hope that I can have your company…

 

Don’t forget, you’re in GoodCompany, when you’re with me

 

Share your thoughts. Comment here.

